International Council for
Philosophy and Human Sciences



The CIPSH is a non-governmental organisation within UNESCO, which federates hundreds of different learned societies in the field of philosophy, human sciences and related subjects.
The CIPSH coordinates the international works and researches carried out by a huge constellation of centres and networks of scholars. It favours the exchange of knowledge among faraway scholars and fosters the international circulation of scholars, in order to improve the communication among specialists from different disicplines, enforce a better knowledge of cultures and of the different social, individual and collective behaviours and bring to the fore the richness of each culture and their fruitful diversity.

The International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies was founded on the 18th of January, 1949, in Brussels, at the request of UNESCO and under its auspices, following a meeting organized by the Union Académique Internationale to bring together representatives of nongovernmental organizations. From January 1, 2011, it adopted the designation “International Council for Philosophy and Human Sciences”.

Le Conseil International de la Philosophie et des Études Humanistiques a été fondé le 18 Janvier de 1949, à Bruxelles, à la demande de l’UNESCO et sous ses auspices, suite a une réunion organisée par l’Union Académique Internationale rassembler des représentants d’organisations non- gouvernementales. Depuis le 1er Janvier 2011, l’organisation a adopté le nom «Conseil International de la Philosophie et des Sciences Humaines ».

The Board of the Assembly shall exercise the functions of the governing body of the Council between sessions of the General Assembly. It consists of one President, who is also President of the CIPSH, two Vice-Presidents, the Secretary-General, the Treasurer, the immediate Past President, and four to six Members. (Art. VI, §1 of the Statutes).

Le Bureau de l’Assemblée exercera les fonctions d’organisme de gouvernement du Conseil entre les sessions de l’Assemblée Générale. Il est composé d’un Président, lequel est aussi le Président du CIPSH, deux Vice-Présidents, le Secrétaire-Général, le Trésorier, l’ Ancien Président et quatre à six Membres (Article VI, §1 des Statuts du CIPSH).

The new board, elected at the General Assembly in Liège, Belgium, on August 6 2017, is composed by/Le nouveau bureau, élu à l’Assemblée Générale à Liège, en Août 2017, est composé de: Chao Gejin (Président/President), Rosalind Hacket (Vice-Présidente/Vice-President), François Djindjian (Vice- Président/Vice-President), Luiz Oosterbeek (Secrétaire-Général/Secretary-General), Franco Montanari (Trésorier/Treasurer), Adama Samassékou (Ancien President), Meenakshi Bharat, Ulrich Grossman, Xiaochun Sun, Isenbike Togan, William L. McBride and Laurent Tissot.