International Council for
Philosophy and Human Sciences


Diogenes provides a forum for discussion in all areas of philosophy and humanistic studies. The journal was established in the belief that the exchange of ideas among a wide variety of disciplines would not only enrich the separate fields of study but also reveal new perspectives and possibilities for cross-fertilization. It fulfils an international mandate, with editions in English, French, Chinese and Arabic.

As well as being of interest to specialists wishing to keep abreast of developments in other areas of study, Diogenes is also a valuable resource for members of the general public with an interest in the contemporary cultural climate.

Aims and Scope:

Following a discussion in CIPSH soon after its establishment in 1949, Diogenes was founded by Roger Caillois in 1952 in the framework of the Council. Diogenes is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal published under the patronage of the International Council for Philosophy and Human Sciences and currently edited under the coordination of the Fédération Internationale des Sociétés de Philosophie.

From the outset it was conceived of as a widely international and transdisciplinary journal. It represents a reference publication for scholars working in the humanities at large. Diogenes publishes work from all fields of philosophical, humanistic and social studies, from archaeology to education and from economics to sociology.

Access to former issues edited by SAGE


Current Editors


Maurice Aymard

Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Paris, France

Luca Maria Scarantino

CIPSH/ICPHS, Paris, France



Former editors


Roger Caillois


Jean d'Ormesson


Paola Costa Giovangigli  




Editorial Board


 Madeline H. Caviness, FSA

Tufts University

In-Suk Cha 

Seoul National University

Thierry Dufrêne

National Institute of History of Art, Paris

 Paulin J. Hountondji         

National University of Benin

Adama Samassekou

African Academy of Languages, Bamako



Editorial Assistance


Catherine Champniers

Institut International de Philosophie, Paris





Colin Anderson


Claire Avellan

Buenos Aires 

Jean Burrell           


Kristina Cordero

New York 

Thierry Loisel 


Alessandra Parrini 


Isabelle Puderbeutel 

Tel Aviv 

Peter Pulborough 




Advisory Board


An Jiayao 

Inst. of Archaeology, Cass, Beijing

Jean-Godefroy Bidima

Tulane University

Tanella Boni            

University of Abidjan

Yves Coppens     

Collège de France, Paris

Souleymane Bachir Diagne

Columbia University

Doudou Diène 

UN University

Paulin J. Hountondji 

National University of Benin 

Julio Labastida     

UNAM, Mexico

Abdallah Laroui     

Royal Academy of Morocco 

Antonio Marazzi 

University of Padua

Ivana Markova          

Stirling University

Fatma Oussedik     

University of Alger

Ornella Pompeo Faracovi

Center "F. Enriques" for the History of Science

Romila Thapar 

Jawaharlal Nehru University